An interview with our Marine Scientist - Georgie Kenning


Georgie is our Marine Scientist and her focus at the Marine Discovery Centre is looking after our marine creatures and educating our visitors about the importance of preserving our marine environment.

How long have you been at the Marine Discovery Centre?

I began volunteering once a week at the centre at the beginning of 2017. I loved it so much I started coming in more often in between shifts in retail, and then started working here in the winter of 2019. It’s been really enjoyable taking on new responsibilities and learning the inner workings of the centre and it’s potential into the future.

What is your role here?

My role at the MDC is as the resident marine scientist and an excursion leader. We host school groups, community groups and members of the public and educate these visitors about marine life in South Australia and what we can do to care for it. I also look after the aquariums in the centre, feeding the animals and maintaining the tanks. This year I began teaching Marine Studies classes to the Star of the Sea School students and  I am enjoying creating structured lessons for various age groups.

What is your favourite part of the centre?

My favourite part is definitely the fish and other animals we have in the aquariums. I see them as my own pets and love coming in every morning, greeting them all and feeding them breakfast. Most of our younger visitors are also usually in awe of these beautiful animals, especially the seahorses. It's great to see the wonder on their faces.

What do you hope visitors take with them when they leave?

My hope is that visitors who join us on a beach trail and then explore the centre will form a stronger connection with the coastal and marine environment and with the natural world in general. The more we understand the natural world and its beauty, the more we can appreciate it and therefore do all we can to look after it.

What do you do in your spare time?

I enjoy my downtime away from work, spending time with family and getting outside when the weather permits. I like to explore new natural places, walking in national parks or walking along the beach. At home I’m often cooking or baking which I find quite comforting.